LGA Liberal Democrat Group Election update

Thank you to all who voted in the LGA Liberal Democrat Group Elections, congratulations to all who are elected and commiserations to those who weren’t this time round. We are still the only political group at the LGA that gives all its councillors an automatic right to vote in group elections. View the results in full – which are also listed below for ease of reference.


Leader – Howard Sykes, Oldham

Deputy Leader – Ruth Dombey, Sutton

Chair – Heather Kidd, Shropshire

Whip – Alan Connett, Teignbridge and Devon CC


Children and Young People

  • Lucy Nethsingha, Cambridgeshire (Lead)
  • Carl Cashman, Knowsley
  • Chris Coleman, Cheltenham and Gloucs (Sub)


Community Wellbeing

  • Richard Kemp, Liverpool (Lead)
  • Doreen Huddart, Newcastle


Culture Tourism and Sport

  • Gerald Vernon-Jackson, Portsmouth (Lead)
  • Mike Bell, North Somerset
  • Niall Hodson, Sunderland City (Sub)


Environment Economy Housing and Transport

  • Adele Morris, Southwark (Lead)
  • Peter Thornton, South Lakeland & Cumbria
  • Stuart Golton , Leeds City (Sub)


Improvement and Innovation

  • Dave Hodgson, Bedford (Lead)
  • Liz Green, Kingston Upon Thames
  • Cherry Beath, BaNES (Sub)



  • Claire Hudson, Mendip, (Lead)
  • Adam Paynter, Cornwall
  • Simon Shaw, Sefton (Sub)


Safer Communities

  • Anita Lower, Newcastle (Lead)
  • Note: An appointment will be made for the second place on the Safer Communities Board in due course.


City Regions                                     

  • Abi Bell, Hull (Lead)
  • Paul Crossley, BaNES


People and Places

  • Heather Kidd, Shropshire (Lead)
  • Sarah Osborne, Lewes and East Sussex
  • Stan Collins, South Lakeland and Cumbria (Sub)


Fire Services Commission

  • Keith Aspden, York (Lead)
  • Stuart Bray, Hinckley & Bosworth & Leics (Sub)


(Any queries please contact Rob Banks, Deputy Returning Officer, at rob.banks@local.gov.uk)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *