Lib Dem spokespeople in the House of Lords

The full list of Lib Dem spokespeople in the House of Lords has been announced today by Lord (Jim) Wallace of Tankerness, Leader of the Lib Dems in the Lords.

The new principle spokespeople will lead a strong team of Lib Dem Peers, operating in Parliament, the media and across the country.

Lord Wallace said: “Liberal Democrats are, and have always been, a formidable fighting force in the House of Lords. I will be actively leading a team of new Liberal Democrat Frontbench Spokespeople in protecting liberal values and promoting radical policies.

“There has never been a more important time for Liberal Democrats to be at the forefront of the fight against authoritarian and illiberal policies. Our Spokespeople will take every opportunity to champion Liberal Democrat priorities in Parliament and out in the country.”

Lord Wallace was re-elected unopposed as Leader of the Group and has re-appointed Lord Newby as Chief Whip.

The full list of spokespeople is below:
Business, Innovation and Skills Team

Lord Stoneham of Droxford – Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Garden of Frognal – Spokesperson for Higher and Further Education and Skills

Lord Clement-Jones (jointly with DCMS Team)

Lord Palmer of Childs Hill

Civil Service and the Public Sector

Lord Razzall – Principal Spokesperson for Civil Service and Public Sector Reform

Communities and Local Government Team

Lord Shipley – Principal Spokesperson for Communities, Decentralisation and the Northern Powerhouse

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville – Spokesperson for Housing

Baroness Janke (jointly with Treasury Team)

Constitutional and Political Reform

Lord Tyler – Principal Spokesperson for Constitutional and Political Reform

Culture, Media, Sport and Tourism Team

Baroness Bonham-Carter – Principal Spokesperson for Media and the Creative Industries

Baroness Doocey – Principal Spokesperson for Sport, Tourism and Cultural Participation

Lord Clement-Jones (jointly with BIS Team)


Baroness Jolly – Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Energy and Climate Change Team

Lord Purvis of Tweed – Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Maddock

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Team

Baroness Parminter – Principal Spokesperson

Education Team

Lord Storey – Principal Spokesperson

Lord Addington – Spokesperson for Special Educational Needs

Baroness Pinnock – Spokesperson for Children

Baroness Hussein-Ece – Principal Spokesperson

Foreign Office Team

Lord Wallace of Saltaire – Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Baroness Ludford – Spokesperson for Europe

Health Team

Baroness Walmsley – Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Tyler of Enfield – Spokesperson for Mental Health

Home Affairs Team

Lord Paddick – Principal Spokesperson

Baroness Hamwee – Parliamentary Spokesperson

International Development

Baroness Northover – Principal Spokesperson

Lord Chidgey

Zahida Manzoor

Justice Team

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames – Principal Spokesperson

Lord Lester of Herne Hill – Human Rights Legislation

Law Officers

Lord Thomas of Gresford – Shadow Attorney General

Northern Ireland Team

Lord Alderdice – Principal Spokesperson

Scotland Team

Lord Stephen – Principal Spokesperson

Transport Team

Lord Teverson – Principal Spokesperson

Lord Bradshaw – Parliamentary Spokesperson and Industry Contact

Treasury Team

Baroness Kramer – Principal Spokesperson

Lord Sharkey – Spokesperson for Personal Finances

Baroness Janke (jointly with DCLG Team)

Voluntary Sector

Baroness Barker – Principal Spokesperson for the Voluntary Sector and Social Enterprise

Wales Team

Baroness Randerson – Principal Spokesperson

Work and Pensions Team

Lord German – Principal Spokesperson

Lord Kirkwood – Spokesperson for Welfare

Baroness Thomas of Winchester – Spokesperson for Disability

cllr Jenny Hannaby says

Wonderful list of talented Peers. One missing sadly Charles Kennedy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *