The LGA Liberal Democrat Group “Lib Dem Council Group of the Year” awards were announced at Harrogate on 6 March 2009.

The winners were:

Backbencher of the YearCouncillor John Marshall – councillor on North Yorkshire County Council for over 30 years service.

London Councils Award for Innovation in Candidate RecruitmentLiberal Democrat Group in Lewisham.
Highly commended – Lib Dem Group on Lambeth Council.

Tackling Anti-Social BehaviourLiberal Democrat Group on Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council.

Helping Children and Young PeopleSheffield City Council Liberal Democrat Group

Improving Social Care ServicesLondon Borough of Sutton

Supporting Culture, Leisure and RegenerationLiberal Democrat Group on the London Borough of Islington.

Green Council Group of the YearLiberal Democrat Group on Liverpool City Council
HIghly commended: Liberal Democrat Group on Cardiff City Council 

Council Group of the YearLiberal Democrat Group on Newcastle City Council
Highly commended:  Liberal Democrat Group on Waltham Forest. and Liberal Democrat Group on Cambridgeshire County Council 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *