ALDC Management Committee 2016-2018 Results and Elections

Nominations have closed for members to serve on the ALDC Management Committee, 2016-2018.

Mayor Dave Hodgson has been elected as the next Chair of ALDC.
Dave Hodgson has been the Liberal Democrat Elected Mayor of Bedford Borough since 2009. Dave was previously a Councillor on Bedford Borough Council, having first been elected in 2002, and was leader of the Liberal Democrat group on the Council prior to his election as Mayor.

Dave has previously run his own business in the North East, and worked as an IT lecturer at universities in London and the North-East. Dave serves as the Liberal Democrat lead on the LGA’s Improvement and Innovation Board. He has held a number of posts in the Liberal Democrats, including Regional Campaigns Officer and Regional Chair, and worked as the party’s Membership Development Officer for England. He has also worked as a full time agent.

Dave has led Bedford Borough Council – a unitary authority since April 2009 – through a successful period, including the delivery of several major infrastructure projects such as the final section of the Bedford Western Bypass and a brand new Bedford Bus Station.

ALDC Chair-elect Mayor Dave Hodgson said: “I am delighted to be taking on the role of ALDC Chair at what is an exciting time for ALDC and indeed for the Liberal Democrats in local government. ALDC has a key role to play in supporting Liberal Democrat Councillors and council groups wherever they are to be successful, campaigning champions of their communities. That includes keeping up the superb by-election results we are currently seeing.”

“I can’t wait to get started and to work with Liberal Democrats across the country in the cause of making a positive difference in their communities.”

Baroness Cllr Kath Pinnock (Kirklees) has been re-elected as ALDC’s President. Elected as Vice-Chairs are Councillor Anood Al-Samerai (Southwark) and Councillor Steven Lambert (Buckinghamshire and Aylesbury Vale).

Cllr Sarah Boad (Warwickshire) has been elected as Secretary. Former Welsh Assembly Member Veronica German (Torfaen) has been elected as Treasurer.

For the ordinary members of the Management Committee:
Cllr Willie Wilson (Perth and Kinross) has been re-elected as Scottish Representative. Paul Halliday (Newport) has been elected as Welsh Representative.

The remaining posts are contested and a ballot of all members commencing this Friday. Candidates are detailed below:

English Representative (1 vacancy)
Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson (Portsmouth)
Cllr Paul Clark (North Hertfordshire)

Ordinary Members (10 vacancies)
Cllr Manuel Abellan (Sutton)
Victor Chamberlain (Southwark)
Cllr Paul Clark (North Hertfordshire)
Cllr Alan Connett (Devon and Teignbridge)
Becky Forrest (Bolton)
Cllr Claire Hudson (Mendip)
Cllr Heather Kidd (Shropshire)
James Moore (Reading)
Mel ab Owain (Conwy)
Cllr Jeanette Sunderland (Bradford)
Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson (Portsmouth)
Cllr Chris White (Hertfordshire and St. Albans)
Cllr Ian Yuill (Aberdeen)

Manifestos for all candidates can be found here.

The new ALDC Management Committee takes office on 27 November 2016, to serve until November 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *