There were a couple of second places for Liberal Democrat candidates in principal council by-elections last Thursday. In Guildford (BC), the party’s vote share increased by 4.7% from May as Alan Hilliar finished second to the Conservatives in Ash South & Tongham ward. Also, Sherree Miller came in second place in Bolyen ward in Newham (LB) with 9.1% of the party, with no Lib Dem candidate being fielded last year. Labour still clinched a very comfortable hold, polling 72.1% to take victory.

Elsewhere, the Conservatives held their seat in Meole ward in Shropshire (UA) with a 187 majority. The Lib Dem vote share increased by 12.3% from 2013 as Nat Green finished third with 19.6% of the vote.

In addition, the Tories polled over 50% as they held seats in Malvern Hills (DC) and South Kesteven (DC). No Liberal Democraqt candidates were fielded in these two contests.

Alongside last week’s principals, there were a pleasing set of town and parish election results for Liberal Democrats. The party successfully held two seats in Bognor Regis (TC), with UKIP holding another. The party also camne close to winning in Barwell (PC), falling just 24 votes short of the Conservatives in Charnwood ward.

Eight seats will be up for grabs in this week’s principal council elections. Barbara Johnson will be hoping to hold a Liberal Democrat seat in Harborough (DC), whilst the Conservatives will be defending two seats in Kinson South ward in Bournemouth (UA) following disqualifications, with Phil Dunn and Gill Pardy standing for the Lib Dems. The party will also be fielding candidates in Huntingdonshire (DC), South Lanarkshire (UA) and Fylde (BC), alongside two contests in North East Derbyshire (DC).

The party will also have representation in a by-election on Wokingham Town Council.

For a detailed list of last week’s results please click here. If you would like more information on all the forthcoming by-elections and details on who to contact for help, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *